John S. Mattick

John Mattick is Professor of RNA Biology at UNSW Sydney. He was previously the Chief Executive of Genomics England, Director of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research in Sydney, and Director of the Institute for Molecular Bioscience and the Australian Genome Research Facility at the University of Queensland.

Professor Mattick is well known for his work showing that the majority of the human genome is not junk but rather specifies an RNA regulatory system that organises our development. He has published over 300 research articles and reviews, which have been cited over 70,000 times. His work has received editorial coverage in Nature, Science, Scientific American, New Scientist and the New York Times.

Professor Mattick was appointed Officer in the Order of Australia (AO) and received the Centenary Medal for his services to molecular biology. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Health & Medical Sciences, and the Australian Academy of Technology & Engineering. He is also an Associate Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization. He has received numerous awards including Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia, the Lemberg Medal of the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Medal, the Human Genome Organization Chen Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Human Genetics and Genomic Research, the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Bertner Award for Distinguished Contributions to Cancer Research. In 2019 he was listed among the top 1,000 scientists globally.

Professor Mattick was the inaugural Gutenberg Chair. His project, which was conducted in the laboratory of Professor Eric Westhof at IBMC at the University of Strasbourg, was “Discovery of regulatory and catalytic RNAs in metazoan genomes using RNA tertiary structure motifs.” This work was focussed on understanding the structure-function relationships in RNAs, of which Professor Westhof is a world authority and which is one of the great challenges of contemporary molecular biology. Subsequently, Professor Mattick and colleagues demonstrated that long noncoding RNAs (lncRNAs) associate with chromatin and chromatin-modifying enzymes, indicating that some (and indeed many) lncRNAs function as guides for the epigenetic control of development. They showed that lncRNAs exhibit precise and highly restricted expression patterns and subcellular localization in the brain. They identified lncRNAs that are dynamically regulated during stem cell, neuronal, muscle and mammary gland development, as well as tiny RNAs associated with transcription and splice sites, and new classes of small RNAs derived from small nucleolar RNAs. They also showed that at least 20% of the human genome is conserved at the level of RNA structure, and that regulatory exons in mRNAs and lncRNAs are near-universally alternatively spliced, indicating their functional modularity. His work is currently focussed on understanding the role of lncRNAs in the brain and identifying the link between modular domains in lncRNAs and effector proteins.

John S. Mattick

John Mattick est professeur de biologie de l'ARN à l'UNSW de Sydney. Il a été auparavant directeur général de Genomics England, directeur de l'Institut Garvan de recherche médicale à Sydney, et directeur de l'Institut des biosciences moléculaires et du Centre australien de recherche sur le génome à l'Université du Queensland.

Le professeur Mattick est bien connu pour ses travaux qui montrent que la majorité du génome humain n'est pas un déchet mais qu'il spécifie plutôt un système de régulation de l'ARN qui organise notre développement. Il a publié plus de 300 articles et revues de recherche, qui ont été cités plus de 70 000 fois. Ses travaux ont fait l'objet d'une couverture éditoriale dans Nature, Science, Scientific American, New Scientist et le New York Times.

Le professeur Mattick a été nommé officier de l'Ordre d'Australie (AO) et a reçu la médaille du centenaire pour ses services à la biologie moléculaire. Il est membre de l'Académie australienne des sciences, de l'Académie australienne des sciences médicales et de la santé, et de l'Académie australienne des technologies et de l'ingénierie. Il est également membre associé de l'Organisation européenne de biologie moléculaire. Il a reçu de nombreuses récompenses, notamment le titre de membre honoraire du Collège royal des pathologistes d'Australasie, la médaille Lemberg de la Société australienne de biochimie et de biologie moléculaire, la médaille de l'Union internationale de biochimie et de biologie moléculaire, la médaille Chen de la Human Genome Organisation pour ses réalisations remarquables en génétique humaine et en recherche génomique, le prix Bertner du MD Anderson Cancer Center de l'université du Texas pour ses contributions remarquables à la recherche sur le cancer. En 2019, il a été classé parmi les 1000 meilleurs scientifiques au monde.

Le professeur Mattick a été le premier titulaire d’une chaire Gutenberg. Son projet, qui a été mené dans le laboratoire du professeur Eric Westhof à l'IBMC de l'université de Strasbourg, était "Découverte d'ARN régulateurs et catalytiques dans les génomes métazoaires en utilisant des motifs de structure tertiaire des ARN". Ces travaux ont été axés sur la compréhension des relations structure-fonction dans les ARN, dont le professeur Westhof est une autorité mondiale et qui constitue l'un des grands défis de la biologie moléculaire contemporaine. Par la suite, le professeur Mattick et ses collègues ont démontré que les longs ARN non codants (ARNL) s'associent à la chromatine et aux enzymes modifiant la chromatine, ce qui indique que certains (et en fait de nombreux) ARNL fonctionnent comme des guides pour le contrôle épigénétique du développement. Ils ont montré que les lncRNAs présentent des modèles d'expression précis et très restreints et une localisation subcellulaire dans le cerveau. Ils ont identifié des lncRNA qui sont régulés dynamiquement pendant le développement des cellules souches, des neurones, des muscles et des glandes mammaires, ainsi que de minuscules ARN associés aux sites de transcription et d'épissage, et de nouvelles classes de petits ARN dérivés de petits ARN nucléolaires. Ils ont également montré qu'au moins 20 % du génome humain est conservé au niveau de la structure des ARN, et que les exons régulateurs des ARNm et des ARNc sont épissés alternativement de façon quasi universelle, ce qui indique leur modularité fonctionnelle. Ses travaux se concentrent actuellement sur la compréhension du rôle des lncRNA dans le cerveau et l'identification du lien entre les domaines modulaires des lncRNA et les protéines effectrices.